Braidesmaid Statistics

So I was flipping through the channels and came across 27 Dresses, the story of a woman who has been a bridesmaid a whopping 27 times.  It got me thinking about bridesmaids in general – what they go through, how much they spend, how much they travel, whether or not they will EVER wear the dress again…

I myself have been a bridesmaid 4 times (and I’ve got one on the books for 2010.)  I’ve traveled to the beach and to the mountains.  I’ve attended bachelorette parties, bridal showers and lingerie showers.  I’ve spent thousands of dollars.  I’ve never worn any of the dresses again.

So I did some research and I thought you might find it interesting:

  • There is an average of 4 bridesmaids in each wedding
  • From dress to gift to travel, a single bridesmaid will spend approximately $1,009 per wedding (Bridesmaid dress $178; Accessories $52; Alterations $56; Bachelorette party expenses $152; Bridal shower gift $72; Hair $65; Hotel (per night) $140; Manicure (plus tips) $32; Outfit for rehearsal dinner $71; Pedicure $30; Plane fare $303; Rental car (per day) $88; Shoes $49; Wedding gift $117)
  • The average number of times someone is a bridesmaid is three
  • Only about 19% of bridesmaid dresses are ever worn again
  • Only about 34% of bridemaids attend both the bachelorette party and bridal shower, in addition to the wedding

Copyright 2009 by The Wedding Report, Inc.

About Jaime Lee Puskar

Wedding and Event Planner. Toula's Mom. World Traveler. Amateur Chef. Gleek. Movie-Buff. Blonde. Madonna Fan. Scotch Aficionado.
This entry was posted in Bridesmaids, Budget, Real Life Weddings, Shopping, The Wedding Party, Trends, Wedding Dresses & Designers, Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment